Update: August Highlights & Favourites

August is almost over (doesn’t time fly fast?) and we’re back with another post together to share some products and recent experiences we’ve been loving.

 

C’s Update

I’ve managed to do quite a lot of shopping this month (whoops?) so I have a few goodies that I really want to share with you guys.

Firstly, I wanted to talk about a truly magical book that I picked up a few weeks ago – Paris: Through A Fashion Eye by Megan Hess. Megan takes you on an tour of Paris, showing you her favourite places to shop, eat and stay. This book is like a picture book for adults – it’s full of her super chic and dreamy fashion illustrations accompanied by a little bit of text about the beautiful destinations.

megan hess and tom ford lipstick richard swatch

I picked up this Tom Ford lipstick in the shade ‘Richard’ last year at Shanghai airport and I’ve been wearing it to death recently. It’s really the perfect shade of pink for my skin tone and goes well with all my makeup looks. I would describe it as a medium rose shade that’s not too bright and not too nude. I also love this lipstick because it’s super creamy and long lasting – you only require a small touch up after eating. I have my eye on a few other shades from this line so I might be popping in to Sephora real soon!

 

 Frank Body Cherry Bomb Lip Scrub and Miu Miu sunglasses

I’ve been super obsessed with Miu Miu recently 😍It’s starting to warm up here in Melbourne so I wanted to pick up a pair of sunglasses that could go with my more girly outfits. This pair, the ’10ns Noir’, is a signature Miu Miu style with its cat eye shape. I love how elegant it looks and also how comfortably it sits on my face! I’ve had so many problems with sunglasses sliding down my nose but this pair always stays in place.

Alongside trying out the skin care products from Frank Body in a previous post, I also picked up their Cherry Bomb lip scrub. This scrub seriously smells SO GOOD and tastes absolutely DELICIOUS! It doesn’t have a sickening fake cherry smell – it smells just like one of those huge swirly lollipops ( 🍭 ← this) with a hint of cherry. It leaves your lips super supple and smooth.

 

B’s Update

Now for something a bit different… What a week C and I had! We finally got around to watching Crazy Rich Asians and boy… The movie was so much better than I expected! It has revived rom-coms for me and is quickly becoming one of my favourites. The cast is amazing and the story (as cliché as the plot may sound) has some super touching movements. The chess scene near the end of the movie was out of this world! The fashion is to die for (Rachel’s blue ruffled gown is so cinderella-esque) and was a feast for the eyes. Highly recommend this movie to everyone!

Paris Cat Jazz Club Melbourne

We also got to visit a Jazz Club this week: Paris Cat Jazz Club (pictured above!). I’ve always heard how amazing the gigs are there, and I jumped on the chance with C to see Back to Basie play A Night of Sinatra. They played some of my favourite hits such as The Girl from Ipanema and That’s Life.

Paris Cat Jazz Club bar

The club is small and intimate. Star shaped chandeliers hung from the ceiling and if you look up, you can see photos of jazz legends adorning the ceiling. The aesthetic bar also serves a nice selection. Once the music started, I felt like I was transported back in time. Back to the golden age of jazz – as if we were in some swanky, smokey club. The band and featured guests were absolutely stellar. If you’re in Melbourne and love jazz, this is THE place to check out!

Hopefully we’ll be coming back to Paris Cat and visiting more jazz clubs this year.

 

Till next time,

Love

C & B ♡

 

Leave a comment